Trustee Certification

The Trustee Certification program enables hospitals to utilize governance best practices, promote the coordination of care and the best use of resources, and demonstrate to their communities, lawmakers, physicians, employees, businesses and other community stakeholders that Georgia hospitals:

  • Understand and embrace the need for governance accountability;
  • Govern according to a standard of excellence;
  • Are willing to formally certify their adherence to governance best practices;
  • Are committed to care management and coordination of resources;
  • Embrace community accountability and transparency;
  • Structure their community benefit and outreach programs to meet identified community needs;
  • Utilize data from the GHA State of Health Data Report to identify and address areas of need especially for the uninsured and underinsured;
  • Utilize performance data to identify opportunities for improvement and to monitor progress to improve quality and safety; and
  • Integrate local health efforts with state programs.

2018 Brochure

The Checklist is divided into five areas with criteria listed for individual Trustee Certifications.

Benefits of Certification

The benefits of certification can be significant to your hospital’s community and the public it serves. Hospital boards may benefit by having consistent standards and an ability to communicate compliance with those standards. This can help build reputation, confidence and loyalty, and help the hospital be better prepared to address the health care needs of special populations, such as the un- and under-insured, chronic disease patients, etc. The education requirements of the certification program will assist hospital trustees in having a better understanding of expectations for individ¬≠ual and overall governing leadership excellence and having a structure for improving their knowledge and leadership potential.

Certified Trustees

These Trustees were certified in the calendar year 2018. The 2018 Trustees were recognized at the Annual Trustees Conference in January 2019.

Colquitt Regional Medical Center

John Mark Mobley, Jr.

Howard Melton, M.D.

Richard Bass

Kirk Friedlander

James Keith

Maureen Yearta

Richard Turner

Johnny Brown, III

Brooks Sheldon

Crisp Regional Hospital, Inc.

Rann Folsom

Steve Gautney

Claire Krause

Mike Miller

Dr. William Pannell

Dr. Sule Salami

Noel Williams, Jr.

Effingham Hospital Authority

Barry Flonnory

LaMeisha Hunter Kelly

Hoyt (Mose) Mock

Patricia Ann Yarbrough

Floyd Medical Center

Wright W. Bagby, Jr.

John Bennett

George Bosworth, M.D.

Kay Y. Chumbler

James Collins, Jr., M.D.

Katie M. Dempsey

Denise Downer-McKinney

Garry E. Fricks

J. Daniel Hanks, Jr., M.D

Carl J. Herring, M.D.

Robert Holcombe, Jr., M.D.

David W. Johnson

Larry T. Kuglar

Timothy I. Mahanay

Mark W. Manis

W. David Newby

Dee B. Russell, M.D.

W. Frank Shelley

P. Joel Snider, Ph.D.

Shannon Joe Vaughn, M.D.

Rhonda S. Wallace

Brad L. Ward, M.D.

Gwinnett Medical Center

Carlton Buchanan, MD

Renee Byrd-Lewis

Keith Carnes, MD

Norwood Davis

L.C. Johnson

Terri Jondahl

Mike Levengood, J.D.

Miles Mason, III, MD

Bill McGann, MD

Charles Oglesby

Greg Shumate

Jeff Wages

Philip R. Wolfe

Hamilton Health Care System (HHCS)

Bryan E. McAllister

Gary A. Middleton

Don W. Adcock

Robert M. Chandler

G. Lamar Lyle

Jeffrey D. Myers

John P. Neal, III

Steven W. Paynter, M.D.

Henry C. Tharpe, Jr.

Luis M. Viamonte, M.D.

Hamilton Medical Center (HMC)

Robert M. Chandler

Ayman Rifai, M.D.

J. David Gregg

Robert B. Hubbs

Jeffrey D. Myers

W. Scott Sellers

Wallace R. Weeks, M.D.

The Hospital Authority of Hall County and the City of Gainesville

Benny Bagwell

Steve Blair

Ben Hawkins, DMD

Jack Keener

Brenda Perry

Martha Randolph

Rich White

Northeast Georgia Health System

Benny Bagwell

Mary Lynn Cole

Mohak Dave’, MD

Denise Deal

Ben Hawkins, DMD

Clifton Hastings, MD

David Hughs

Paul Maney

John Nix

Martha Nesbitt, Ph.D.

Spence Price

LeTrell Simpson

Jane Smoot

Priscilla Strom, MD

Philip Wilheit

RK Whitehead

Northeast Georgia Medical Center

Steve Blair

Lua Blankenship

Preston Bowen

Eugenia Cindea, MD

Larry Dent

Kaye Ann Herth, Ph.D.

Jack Keener

Deborah Mack

Semuel Maysonet

Phillippa Lewis Moss

John Nix

Tim Scully, MD

Jackie Wallace

Alex Wayne

Phoebe Putney Health System

Mary Helen Dykes

Mary King Givens

Lemuel Griffin

Wilhelmina Hall

Brad Lafevers

Bruce Melton

Lamar Moree, MD

Anthony Parker, PhD

John Temp Phillips, III

Will Sims

Edward Vance, Jr., MD

Joel Wernick

Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital

John Culbreath, EdD

Kathy Hudson, MD

Karen Iler

Marvin Laster

William J. McAfee, MD

Bernard Scoggins, MD

Jay Sharpe

Jimmy Webb

Joel Wernick

Sally Whatley, PhD

Phoebe Sumter Medical Center

Joe Austin

Sandra Daniel, PhD, RN

Robbie Latimore, EdD

Dale Lawson, MD

Regina McDuffie

Fred McLaughlin, EdD

Joel Wernick

Sandra Zornes, MD

Phoebe Worth Medical Center

Joe Austin

Mary King Givens

Don Monk

Vic Patel

Chris Shipp

Shirley Ann Thomas

Joel Wernick

Polk Medical Center

George W. Bosworth, M.D.

Todd Bussey

Bruce R. Casey

D. Lee Cummings

Darroll F. Freeman

Neil E. Gordon, M.D.

Larry T. Kuglar

W. Frank Shelley

Sondi Smith Vest

Brad L. Ward, M.D.

Harold W. Wyatt, Jr.

Morgan Medical Center

Paul R. Courchaine

John M. Moore

Dan Zant, MD

Mary Ellen Shannon

Calvin Welch

Maynard (Butch) Thompson, Jr.

Sarah Burbach

Sherry Terrell

Hubert (Huey) P. Atkins, III

South Georgia Medical Center

Mr. Gregory Powell

Tift Regional Medical Center

Joyce Mims

Upson Regional Medical Center

Scott Blackstock

Johnathan Busbee, M.D

Jim Edwards

Barney Hancock

Bill Hightower

Steve Keadle

Kay Robinson

Kay Searcy

Ralph Warnock, M.D.

Wayne Memorial Hospital

Carletha Davis

Doug Ellis

Dr. Lance Hendrix

Herman Lewis

David Earl Keith

Pat Perry

Brenda Purvis