GHA awards and scholarships honor exceptional hospital employees and hospitals throughout the state of Georgia.

The W. Daniel Barker Leadership Award recognizes an active GHA-member hospital/health system administrator or CEO who has made outstanding contributions to health care.

The Distinguished Service Award honors a Georgian who has dedicated time and talent to bettering a hospital and its community.

The Community Leadership Award recognizes a member hospital that has made exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of the people of Georgia through community health improvement.

The Hospital Hero Awards honor eight hospital GHA-member hospital employees or volunteers throughout the state; one is a Physician Hero and Lifetime Heroic Achievement Award recipient, signifying 30 or more years in health care.

The Partnership for Health and Accountability (PHA) Quality and Patient Safety Award recognizes health care organizations for achievement in reducing the risk of medical errors and improving patient safety and medical outcomes.


The Marjorie G. Hogan Memorial Scholarship Program is used to support the educational development of a qualified health care workforce across Georgia. The scholarships provide financial assistance to individuals pursing a health care career.

The Georgia Association for Healthcare Facility Managers (GAHFM) Jack Joines Scholarship recognizes an individual for his or her demonstrated leadership skills, exemplary commitment to the society, community and the health care profession.

GHA Presents Prestigious Awards

GHA honored its 2017 Hospital Heroes on Thursday, Nov. 9 at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, Atlanta.

Pictured L-R: Gary Rice, Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital; Lisa Robinson, Tanner Health System; Michelle Hollaway, Southeast Georgia Health System; Randolph Smith, M.D., University Health Care System; Ann Boriskie, Shepherd Center; Leslie Fordham, St. Mary's Sacred Heart Hospital; Rev. Dr. William 'Jeff' Flowers, Augusta University Health; Earl Rogers, GHA President; Sheryl Adams; The Medical Center, Navicent Health; DeAnn Flanders, Bacon County Hospital and Health System; Douglas Morris, M.D., Emory Healthcare; Montez Carter, GHA Chair.

2017 Distinguished Service Award

Charles Moore, M.D., Grady Health System

Charles Moore, M.D., has served patients and his community with distinction for many years as the otolaryngology chief of service at Grady Memorial Hospital and as professor of otolaryngology for the Emory University School of Medicine. Perhaps what is most remarkable about his professional career is his work as the president and founder of the HEALing Community Center. This initiative began with Dr. Moore loading medical supplies into his car and offering free basic primary care to a west Atlanta community plagued by stroke, cancer, diabetes and other diseases.  (Read More)

2017 Community Leadership Award

Archbold Medical Center

As part of an overall effort to enable community individuals to make healthier choices, with the help of community partners, Archbold Medical Center established a program called Live Better. While the goal of the program is to address several health disparities, for its first initiative, the hospital focused on obesity. A community health needs assessment had revealed this area as a significant health disparity. (Read More)

2017 W. Daniel Barker Leadership Award

Candice Saunders, FACHE, WellStar Health System

Since Candice Saunders, FACHE, was named president and chief executive officer of WellStar Health System in 2015, the system has seen an explosion of growth in the past few years. Saunders has led many initiatives to meet the needs of the community.  Aside from acquiring six hospitals in 2016 and becoming the largest health system in Georgia, WellStar is also expanding its outpatient facilities to meet the expected demand of outpatient services over the next decade. (Read More)