Leadership GHA

Leadership GHA is designed to identify, develop and inspire new leaders in health care throughout the state of Georgia. It is a seven-month program that is held annually. It utilizes a variety of techniques to educate participants on the unique and diverse issues that characterize Georgia’s health care system. The program includes workshops, conferences, panel discussions and field trips to a variety of hospitals and health systems throughout the state.


All GHA-member CEOs are eligible and encouraged to participate. Any GHA-member hospital employees nominated by their CEOs are also eligible. Class participants usually include CEOs, vice presidents, department directors, government relations directors and managers. Classes are a mix of senior and mid-level professionals from hospitals of all sizes located in all areas of the state.


Class members must be nominated by GHA-member hospital CEOs. Click here for the nominations form. Nominations are due by March 31 for the program class year that begins in July and ends in January the following year.


A one-time tuition fee of $2,500 will be billed to the nominating CEO’s attention upon acceptance of the nominee on or around May 15. Tuition covers program related expenses such as speakers, meals, A/V expenses, materials, group-related (bus) transportation during site visits, etc. Tuition does not cover hotel lodging, individual transportation (mileage) to & from the programs.

Annual Schedule


Nominations are officially open upon the President’s announcement at the GHA Trustee Conference. Forms will be available on-site at the conference and the on-line nomination forms will be available on the following Monday.

March 31 
Nominations close.

April 15
Class members are notified of acceptance and mailed acceptance forms to be returned to GHA.

May 15
Class member acceptance forms are due back to GHA. Upon receipt, GHA sends invoices for the tuition to CEOs.

June 30
Tuition is due. Class receives details on Program #1 in July.

Program #1 (2 nights, Wed.-Fri.) location TBA

Program #2 (3 nights) in conjunction with the GHA Center for Rural Health Mtg.

Program #3 (2 nights, Wed.-Fri.) location TBA

Program #4 (2 nights, Wed.-Fri.) location TBA

Program #5 (1 night + optional 2 nights) Graduation & in conjunction with the GHA Trustee Conf.

(Dates above maybe subject to change)

2020-2021 Program Agenda

Click here for the 2020-2021 program agenda.

Meet the Class of 2019-2020

Bisa Ajanaku, Grady Health System
Ray Amerson, Coffee Regional Medical Center
Paul Barkley, Navicent Health Baldwin
Johnathan Buice, Upson Regional Medical Center
Paola Buirtrago, WellStar Health System
Jason Gassett, Upson Regional Medical Center
Sherpri Giles, St. Francis Hospital
Stacey Howard, Fairview Park Hospital
Amy Krieg, Georgia Hospital Association
Terri McLean, Bacon County Hospital & Health System
Steven McWilliams, Georgia Hospital Association
Kristin Ndiaye, Shepherd Center
James Nixon, Meadows Regional Medical Center
Kimberly Reynolds, Hamilton Health Care System
Jamie Schaeffer, Coffee Regional Medical Center
Debbie Spivey, Bacon County Hospital & Health System
Abigail Thompson, WellStar Health System
Nick Townsend, Union General Inc.
Peter Tran, Houston Healthcare

Previous Leadership GHA Classes

Check out previous graduates.

Previous Host Hospitals

Check out previous host hospitals.