Patient Safety and Quality Awards

The PHA Patient Safety and Quality Awards recognize health care organizations for their achievements in reducing the risk of medical errors and improving patient safety and medical outcomes. 


Award Timeline

July  - GHA releases award eligibility, applications and instructions to the membership

October 30  -  Deadline for members to submit applications

Nov. – Dec. - Third party Judges review and score blinded copies of the applications

January - Awards are announced at the Patient Quality and Safety Summit


Current Categories:

  • Critical Access Hospitals
  • Hospitals with under 100 Beds
  • Hospitals with 100 to 299 Beds
  • Hospitals with 300 plus Beds
  • Hospital/Health Systems
  • Specialty Hospitals (Long Term Acute Care, Rehab, Psychiatric/Behavioral, Other Specialty)
  • Josh Nahum Special Award for Achievement in Infection Prevention and Control

*Circle of Excellence Award (no application required) is awarded to a hospital that wins an award in the current year as well as three or more PHA Patient Safety and Quality awards within the previous five years.


Award Winners